The Northern Area Plan

October 1, 2015

On 22 September the Environment Minister Mark Durkan launched The Northern Area Plan covering the area of the Causeway Coast and Glens. On 1 April 2015 the four Councils (Ballymoney, Coleraine, Limavady and Moyle) merged to form the new Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council. The Northern Area Plan 2016 is the development plan for the four legacy Council Areas of Ballymoney, Coleraine, Limavady and Moyle, prepared under the provisions of Part III of the Planning (Northern Ireland) Order 1991, by the Department of the Environment. Planning Powers were transferred from the Department of the Environment to Councils in April 2015, however, the legislative powers to allow the Department to adopt the Northern Area Plan 2016 were retained by the Department. The Northern Area Plan 2016 becomes the local development plan for the Council area until the Council adopts its own Local Development Plan.

The Minister has said “The Plan will provide the statutory framework for the area and will be the primary mechanism to reconcile any potential conflict between the need for development and the need to protect the environment”.

Highlights of the Plan include:

  • designated settlement development limits for the areas of Ballymoney, Coleraine, Limavady and Moyle which define where appropriate development will be acceptable in principle;
  • the recognition of the residential, recreational and tourism potential of Portrush and Portstewart;
  • development land identified within Ballykelly, Bushmills, Cushendall, Dungiven, Garvah and Kilrea (including 25 villages and 34 small settlements).

The Plan and supporting documents can be accessed here: The Northern Area Plan

Please note; the content of this article is for information purposes only and further advice should be sought from a professional legal advisor before any action is taken.

Please contact Cleaver Fulton Rankin on 028 9024 3141 or alternatively visit